Erdbeermond


Diary

ehehehehehe
13.05.2023 - feeling: super happy!!!!
Song of the Day: Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - Elton John

We went to see Sanssouci today!
It's a rococo palace, more specifically the summer palace of Friedrich the Great. The name is French for "without worries". (Friedrich loved the French language and culture)
I have wanted to go there for a long time, it always looked so beautiful in pictures. And in real life, everything looked even better! I also wrote an essay on absolutism this year where I (amongst others) talked about Friedrich and Sanssouci, so visiting felt very appropriate.
The actual Sanssouci Palace is rather small (like a villa), but that doesn't matter since the interior and exterior are so wonderfully detailed. Walking up the stairs to the palace was exhausting because it was so hot, but it was totally worth it. (I also saw a man almost fall into the fountain - apparently, my great grandfather really fell in there once?
The surrounding park is so big and has so many follies and other buildings that you could easily just spend the whole day there - just admiring the architecture and plants.
Since the New Palais is also located by the Sanssouci Park, we went on a guided tour there. This palace was also summer residence, meaning it's quite cool inside. It's also way bigger than Sanssouci - it has 300 rooms! For example, festival and banqueting halls, one of which has a ceiling painting that is 240 square meters big! Just as in Sanssouci, I really enjoyed the intricate design of the interior.
(Also, the waffle I had at the bistro was really good, lol)
The trip was a late birthday present to me and I'm really glad that we went, it was great!
I'll add some pictures here!





Currently
Watching:
Revolutionary Girl Utena
Reading:
The Jasmine Throne
Playing:
Genshin Impact


빛을 따라서


Happy Cake Smiley